Language Rules

Definately Fixing Alot Of Americas Grammar 1 Word At A Thyme

Language Watch: BBC News Website

with 5 comments

Occasionally, I come across errors and mistakes on reputable websites that really should know better. It doesn’t bother me too much; it’s mostly irritating, given that these sites have some sort of ‘responsibility’ imho to use language correctly.

Just today I read this on the BBC website (here):

“The campaign is raising the necessary capital through pledges and has already received more than 60,000 euros.

If the group is successful it will purchase the source code for the game and distribute it for free.

Avid fans could then write code and contribute to the game’s development.

“The game won’t change, its more the way people will use it” said Xavier Antoviaque, a founder of the campaign and an ex-employee of Nevrax.”

Spot the error :p

I wish there was some direct feedback system so I could notify the editors. The author of the news item isn’t even identified.

Whenever I spot any language-related errors on reputable sites, I’ll post them here (under ‘Language Watch’). I think we should collect them all, or even let the sites know. With regard to the BBC – how such mistakes get past whoever proofreads their stuff is a mystery to me! It simply shouldn’t happen.

edit: I DO like smileys. Aren’t they enabled on this blog? They don’t show. I know it’s mainly about language but a little bit of colour here and there wouldn’t go amiss ;)

Written by lenina

2006 Dec 1 at 12:58

Posted in apostrophes

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is ridiculous. Also ridiculous is how often people these days are connecting whole sentences using commas. “The game won’t change, its [sic!] more the way people will use it.” makes me want to vomit. Ever hear of a fricking semicolon?

    nosugrefneb

    2006 Dec 1 at 13:23

  2. Its just not that evident. Its like, well, duh, I should be able to find the mistake. But, and I know this is silly, its stumping me. :)

    Lisa Gates

    2006 Dec 1 at 14:50

  3. I didn’t even notice the semi-colon but I can see it now. Clearly :p

    lenina

    2006 Dec 5 at 08:47

  4. i was starting to suppose i could be the sole guy which cared about this, at the very least at present i discover im not loco :) i will be sure to look at a couple of various threads soon after i get some caffeine in me, it is rough to read with out my coffee, I was up late last evening grinding facebook poker and after having a few beers i ended up losing all my zynga poker chips cheers :)

    zynga facebook

    2010 Mar 20 at 12:30

  5. Awesome story it is without doubt. My father has been looking for this update.

    baju murah

    2011 Jul 31 at 11:41


Leave a Reply

